Domestic Church / Fathers

How to Bless Your Children

Father-and-sons-001“You may not be rich; you may be unable to bequeath any great possessions to your children; but one thing you can give them; the heritage of your blessing. And it is better to be blessed than to be rich.” St. Ambrose

Hey Dad, did you know you are priest of your home? That’s right, Our Lord ordained us men as heads of the Domestic Church, which is a miniature of the Universal Church. This joyful responsibility means you are prophet, priest, and king of your family. (For a great book on this topic, click here.)

One way you can embrace your role as priest of your family is by blessing your children. This can be done each night before bed, once a week on Sunday, or whenever you want. To bless your child, trace the sign of the cross on his or her forehead (I dip my thumb in holy water first, but this isn’t necessary) and say the following:

“May almighty God, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, bless you my child for time and eternity, and may this blessing remain forever with you.”

That’s it! It’s very simple, and if you do it frequently, your children will come to love and expect this simple ritual. My little boy looks forward to his nightly blessing, and he gives me a happy grin as I pray it.

Did your parents bless you? Do you bless your children?

14 thoughts on “How to Bless Your Children

  1. My mom always blessed us with a cross on the forehead. “May God bless you, and keep you safe and happy, until I see you again. Amen.” She did it any time we left the house and at bedtime. She blessed all our friends who came over too, mostly protestants. They would eventually ask for blessings from her when they came over.

    • Dear Separated Brother-in-Christ,

      I’d like to get together with you off this site some time and hear your story. I’ll also share mine with you. I used to be a Protestant like yourself, and three years ago I found the fulfillment of everything good my Protestant background taught me. The fullness of the Scriptures, the fullness of charity and truth, and the fullness of a relationship with Christ that only the Church can provide. Still, I want to hear why you’re not Catholic, what you disagree on, and give you a fair shot. Let’s share Christ with each other and try to save each other’s souls. If you’re interested let me know, I’ll give you my contact information.

      Pax Christi

    • Marc, what wording do you use? I’ve been alternating between 2 not being entirely happy about either.

      Benedictio Dei omnipotenti Patris & Filii & Spiritus Sancti descendat super te et maneat semper. Amen.

      and

      Benedicat & custodiat te omnipotens & misericors Dominus, Pater & Filius & Spiritus Sanctus. Amen.

      I actually like the form given in the article but I haven’t been able to find a nice Latin version of it anywhere and English is not the language spoken at our home, it would be quite weird to use it for the blessing…

  2. I blessed my four children every night with the blessing which God gave to Moses:

    May the Lord bless you and keep you
    May the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious unto you
    May the Lord look upon you kindly and give you peace.

    A father’s hand on a child’s head while blessing is also good.

  3. Pingback: Spiritual Weapons: Holy Water | The Catholic Gentleman

  4. Pingback: Epiphany Home Blessing | The Catholic Realist

Leave a Reply

